T.R. Savage
2 min readAug 9, 2020

My Name Is Nod

OF THE HUNDRED’s Of POEMS THAT I HAVE WRITTEN THROUGH THE YEARS THIS IS MY OWN PERSONAL FAVORITE. I hope that you may like it too

This is a poem that is designed to make us think, to get us to maybe get the book of Genesis out for another look. Maybe, if you are not good at world geography you might want to dig into some maps of the known world of about 5,000 years or so ago. I hope that you enjoy it, quite a bit of research went into making this poem be accurate.

My Name Is Nod

Do you know me

Listen, does not the wind whisper

Do not the mountains echo my name

How is it that you do not know me

Did not Moses lay out the path to my door

For two of your human generations

The Valley of The Garden of God

Was my western door

My Sister, Lake Urmia was fast a sleep

Within her no bounty ever found

The West Gate of God’s Garden she guarded

Now she is but salty ground

Did not my mountains rumble

And spew forth fire and rocks

How is it you can not find me

Can you not hear the ticking of the clock

Many years ago now one came out to me

Spewed forth from the Garden of God

With a mark upon his head, he came unto me

So all my inhabitants would know

That whosoever dared to harm him

Would quickly also soon be dead

The Garden has now so long been gone

It’s land like mine is scorched

The Face of God once again I yearn to see

When the light shines and the Trumpet blasts

Will He with tearful voice echo my words to you

My Child, My Child, how is it you do not know me

T.R. Savage

I am a 64 yr old Christian man who lives in Kentucky. I have been disabled for 7 yrs now. Was a long haul truck driver during 4 decades. Please do drop in.